Upcycling: Wall Hooks

Standard

I found this sad little thing at one of my local Salvos stores.  I imagine in her previous life she graced the walls of a little old lady’s home, maybe by the front door, to hold her bag, coat and hat.  Because of her dated pattern, she sat unloved on a shelf, marked $8.   I saw her potential, and brought her home for a face lift.

Sad, old wall hooks.

First, I had to pull her apart.

sad, old wall hooks 2

I used the old fabric and wadding as templates to cut new ones.  After scraping off all the old glue on the board, I attached both fabric and wadding to the backing board.  The fabric is a Joel Dewberry, in the Avery range.

Luc Preschool 023

A few white coats of paint to the frame, a little distressing and some new draw handles for hooks completed her new look. Her new home will be in my laundry, and she’ll have the honor of holding my broom, dustpan and fly swat.  Not an overly glamorous life, but at least she’ll look good doing it!

Finished Wall Hooks

I love giving things others throw away a second chance at life.   Do you?

Talk soon,

M.xx

Leave a Reply

